The Tuscan Daughter

Cover Art for 9780008671525, The Tuscan Daughter by Tessa Harris
ISBN: 9780008671525
Publisher: HQ Fiction GB
Published: 5 June, 2024
Format: Paperback
Links Harper Collins
Editions:
2 other editions of this product
Saving: Saving: $20.98 or 50%

A country at war. An impossible choice. A woman who will risk everything to be free. Tuscany, 1942: having moved from England to the beautiful city of Lucca before the outbreak of war, Lizzie Thornton adores her job as tutor to eight-year-old Cristo – despite the fact that his father, Count Antonio de Falco, is a notable fascist and supporter of Mussolini. Then war is declared, and Lizzie is suddenly regarded as an enemy in the country she loves so much. When new tutor Vincenzo Baldini arrives, Lizzie is exposed to a new secret world; Vincenzo is actually a member of the Italian resistance, running an anti-fascist propaganda magazine. Lizzie, desperate to be part of the fight, joins Vincenzo's unit, and soon she is head over heels in love. But when someone from her past reappears and threatens to overturn her new life, Lizzie must decide if she has the strength to fight for what, and who, she truly wants. Based on true events, The Tuscan Daughter is an utterly sweeping and heartbreaking story of one woman's resilience, courage, and determination in the face of fascism, perfect for fans of Mandy Robotham and Kate Quinn. Praise for Tessa Harris: ‘So many twists and turns and I certainly didn't predict the ending. Five stars from me, I highly recommend this book.' NetGalley reviewer, ‘An amazing story set during World War Two. Beautifully written characters you fall in love with from the very first page.' NetGalley reviewer, ‘A mix of danger, suspense, mystery, romance and heartbreaking choices make for a story I would definitely recommend.' NetGalley reviewer, ‘A unique historical fiction story that stands out from other books in the genre.' NetGalley reviewer, ‘Emotional, unique, fast paced, intriguing, engrossing and a book I just couldn't put down!' NetGalley reviewer,

Booko is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

Shop Preferences

Customize which shops to display. You can include the following shops by logging in to change your settings.

Booko is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

Historical Prices

Loading...
This graph is for informational purposes only. Occasionally pricing data is captured incorrectly, through bugs in Booko or the stores supplying data, which may distort the graph, providing undue hope that even lower prices sometimes appear.

Recently Updated